Header

Language Selection

Search

Login

swiss-miles-and-more-iceland-slider
Iceland is worth visiting

Velkominn!

swiss-miles-and-more-iceland-teaser1

Home to elves and trolls in the middle of nowhere

Iceland is one of the most sparsely populated countries in the world. Although the islands are twice the size of Switzerland, fewer people live here than in Zurich. Most on the main island with the capital. Reykjavík is the vibrant heart of the country and the starting point for journeys into peace, silence and endless space.

swiss-miles-and-more-iceland-teaser2

One country, many natural wonders

If you love adventures in nature, you will fall in love with Iceland at first sight. Active volcanoes like Eyjafjallajökull, majestic geysers, huge glaciers like Vatnajökull, icy-cold rivers and lakes, hot springs like the blue lagoon in Grindavík or powerful waterfalls shape the barren and wild landscape. If you travel to Iceland between August and April, you will have the chance to see an unforgettable natural phenomenon with your own eyes: the magical Northern Lights.

swiss-miles-and-more-iceland-teaser3

Celebrate with the locals

Despite the long and cold winter nights, Icelanders are usually in a good mood and, according to the “World Happiness Report 2021”, they are the second happiest people in the world. The quickest way to find this out is in Reykjavík, where the locals love to party until late at night. Velkominn til Íslands!

swiss-miles-and-more-good-to-know-teaser

Good to know

You can easily make cashless payments with your SWISS Miles & More credit cards everywhere in Iceland. Icelanders hardly carry any cash with them and make cashless payments in bars, stores, hotels, restaurants or supermarkets. If you are traveling by car, you can in fact only pay by card at the widely available card filling stations.

Header

Sprachauswahl

Suche

Login

swiss-miles-and-more-iceland-slider
Island ist eine Reise Wert

Velkominn!

swiss-miles-and-more-iceland-teaser1

Wo sich Elfen und Trolle gute Nacht sagen

Island ist eines der am dünnsten besiedelten Länder weltweit. Die Inseln sind zwar doppelt so gross wie die Schweiz, dennoch leben weniger Menschen hier als in Zürich. Die meisten auf der Hauptinsel mit der Hauptstadt. Reykjavík ist das pulsierende Herz des Landes und der Ausgangspunkt für Reisen in die Ruhe, Stille und endlose Weite.

swiss-miles-and-more-iceland-teaser2

Ein Land, viele Naturwunder

Wer Abenteuer in der Natur liebt, wird sich auf den ersten Blick in Island verlieben. Aktive Vulkane wie der Eyjafjallajökull, majestätische Geysire, riesige Gletscher wie der Vatnajökull, eisig-kalte Flüsse und Seen, heisse Quellen wie die blaue Lagune in Grindavík oder gewaltige Wasserfälle prägen die karge und wilde Landschaft. Falls Sie Island zwischen August und April bereisen, haben Sie die Chance, ein unvergessliches Naturphänomen mit eigenen Augen zu sehen: die traumhaften Nordlichter.

swiss-miles-and-more-iceland-teaser3

Feiern mit den Einheimischen

Trotz der langen und kalten Winternächte sind die Isländerinnen und Isländer meistens gut aufgelegt und laut dem «World Happiness Report 2021» die zweitglücklichsten Menschen der Welt. Das finden Sie am schnellsten in Reykjavík heraus, wo die Einheimischen gerne und ausgelassen bis tief in die Nacht hinein feiern. Velkominn til Íslands!

swiss-miles-and-more-good-to-know-teaser

Gut zu wissen

Bargeldlos bezahlen können Sie mit Ihren SWISS Miles & More Kreditkarten in Island überall problemlos. Isländerinnen und Isländer haben kaum Bargeld dabei und bezahlen in Bars, Geschäften, Hotels, Restaurants oder Supermärkten bargeldlos. Wenn Sie mit dem Auto unterwegs sind, können Sie an den weit verbreiteten Kartentankstellen sogar nur mit Karte bezahlen.